Refunds & Programs


  • Renter Property Tax Refund
    To qualify, your total household income for 2021 must be less than $64,920.
  • Homeowner Regular Property Tax Refund
    The regular property tax refund is for people who own and reside in their home on January 2, 2022. If the home is not homesteaded, your application for homestead must be made before December 15, 2021. You are eligible if your household income for 2021 is under $119,790.
  • Homeowner Special Property Tax Refund
    The special property tax refund is for people who own and reside in their home on both January 2, 2021 and January 2, 2022. There is no limit on household income for the special property tax refund. Your 2022 property taxes must have increased by more than 12% from 2021 to 2022 and be at least $100. The increase must not be attributable to new improvements.

How to Apply

To apply for these refunds, use Form M1PR, Minnesota Property Tax Refund which can be downloaded from the Minnesota Department of Revenue.

Forms and instructions are also available at many libraries after January 1. You can also order them by calling the department's 24-hour forms order service: 651-296-4444. This year's filing deadline is August 15, 2022. Returns can be filed up to a year after the due date. The statute of limitations will lapse for claiming the refund after one year.

When to Expect Your Refund

Homeowners should receive their refund by the end of September if they filed by July 1, or 90 days after they file, whichever is later.

Renters should receive their refund by mid-August if they filed by May 15.

You may receive your refund earlier if you did all of the following:

  • Electronically filed your return
  • Chose to receive your refund by direct deposit
  • Filed for a refund last year
  • Attached a Certificate of Rent Paid (CRP) from your landlord (if a renter)
  • Had no errors on your return
  • Included accurate bank account information

For more information, see the Minnesota Property Tax Refund instruction booklet.

Senior Citizens' Property Tax Deferral

This program allows people 65 years of age or older whose household incomes are $60,000 or less, to defer a portion of their homestead property taxes. You, or your spouse, if you are married, must have owned and occupied your homestead for the last 15 years. The deferred tax is a loan from the state. While in this program, you will pay no more than 3% of your household income toward your property taxes and the state will pay the rest. You or your heirs will need to repay the deferred amount before you can transfer title of the property.

A property may qualify even if there are unpaid special assessments or property taxes, penalties or interest. For questions related only to this program, contact the Minnesota Department of Revenue at 651-556-4803.